The next edition will take place from 11th to 26th February 2017 on theme “King of Energy” 1

The Nice Carnival is part of the Nice DNA. Present since the Middle Ages, it is one of the founding events of the town. It has evolved at its own pace, historically fulfilling its role as a social and festive outlet.

Among the two thousand cultural, festive and sporting events that take place throughout the year in Nice, the Carnival is the most important winter event on the French Riviera

Its international prestige is never usurped. Known and renowned in the four corners of the world as one of the three largest, it has also woven very close links with other carnivals in the world, such as those of  New Orleans in the USA, Pasto in Colombia and even Kobe in Japan… However, the most prestigious link is the one with Rio de Janeiro. In 2009, the year of France in Brazil, Nice and its Carnival were represented with a float!

12In tune with its time, a new impetus has been breathed into this event in order to produce a modern, high quality spectacle, particularly impressive in its nocturnal version, which becomes an authentic sound and lights show. Modernity and tradition are, more than ever, the key words of a third millennium Carnival. Modernity, with its innovative and creative procession, while remaining attentive to safeguarding the environment at the heart of all the activities in the town. Tradition, by maintaining strong symbols associated with the history of the Nice Carnival.

This period offers a marvellous opportunity to discover Nice in the winter: The mild weather, the luminosity of the blu sky and the art of living on the French Riviera. In order to make the most of its sites, its rich cultural and artistic heritage and its gastronomy…and also our B&B Villa Kilauea in Côte d’Azur

La prochaine édition du Carnaval de Nice se déroulera du 11 au 26 février sous le thème « Roi de l’énergie »1

Le Carnaval de Nice fait partie de l’ADN de Nice et des Niçois. Présent depuis le Moyen Age, il est l’une des manifestations constitutives de la ville. Il a évolué à son rythme, remplissant de tout temps son rôle d’exutoire social et festif.

Parmi près de deux mille événements culturels, festifs ou sportifs qui se déroulent à l’année sur Nice,mais  le Carnaval est le plus important de toute la Côte d’Azur en hiver, durant le mois de février.

Son rayonnement international n’est nullement usurpé. Connu et reconnu aux quatre coins du monde comme l’un des trois plus grands carnaval au monde, il tisse aussi des liens très étroits avec d’autres carnavals comme ceux de Rio au Brésil, Laval au Québec, la Nouvelle-Orléans aux USA, Pasto en Colombie, ou encore Kobé au Japon… Mais le lien le plus prestigieux est celui qui existe avec Rio de Janeiro, en 2009, année de la France au Brésil, Nice et son Carnaval y même étaient représentés par un char venu directement des ateliers des caravaniers niçois!

12En phase avec son temps, un nouvel élan a été insufflé à cette manifestation afin de produire un spectacle moderne de qualité, particulièrement impressionnant la nuit, qui devient un véritable spectacle son et lumière. Modernité et tradition sont, plus que jamais, les maîtres mots d’un carnaval du troisième millénaire. Modernité avec son cortège d’innovation et de créativité, tout en restant attentif à la sauvegarde de l’environnement au cœur de toute action dans la ville. Tradition, avec le maintien des symboles forts liés à l’histoire du Carnaval de Nice.

Cette période offre une merveilleuse opportunité pour découvrir Nice en Hiver : la douceur du climat, la luminosité du ciel d’un bleu azur et l’art de vivre sur la Côte d’Azur. Afin de mieux profiter de ses sites, son riche patrimoine culturel et artistique, sa gastronomie…et sa maison d’hôtes Villa Kilauea…